see

Posted: February 21, 2017 in Uncategorized

what i could see at the time

was a hand at my throat as I chose

what i could see, what i could not

created the only me i had space to imagine

 

as my view clarifies

i am less oppressed, more free

the mirror is clearer, my view less obstructed

more me than ever (also more Yours)

 

looking back at the she that was me

her regrettable choices are clear from here

once i saw this with contempt

but am learning compassion for her

 

grace and mercy, mercy and grace

there’s really no room for anything else

 

what you can see at this time

grabs you by the neck and leads you

your “choices” narrowing your possibilities

it’s clear from here but not from where you sit

 

i can’t fix that old vision

what i did and didn’t do

but the me that now sees knows how to be

compassionate patient undisappointed

 

what i can see at this time

lets me love you before you can “choose”

not needing you to be different or better

no prerequisites on acceptance

 

grace and mercy, mercy and grace

there’s really no room for anything else

 

~karen buchanan

 

 

Leave a Reply

