dream/prayer

Posted: April 5, 2016 in Uncategorized

You might want to click here to hear the music in a separate window while you read this one.

I had a dream in the night that was for sure a prayer of my favorite variety – the one where He’s doing all the talking/showing, and I’m just listening/watching raptly.

Come and listen/Come and listen to what He’s done

The room is empty except for garbage.  Litter is strewn across the floor, the curtains hang ragged at the window.  No furniture.  No art or other items of beauty.  No order.  It is a place ravaged and abandoned.  Not not hospitable, not useful, not a place I’d even want to sit for a few minutes.  My eyes sweep back and forth across the ruined room over and again.  No hope here.

Come and listen/Come and listen to what He’s done

The bride is dressed in white, and radiant light glows all around her and from within her.  She knows she is beautiful, and she knows the source of her beauty:  Him who loves her.  She is sure in that love.  Her smile comes from her depths.    She is whole – unbruised, unscarred by what lies behind.  She is all peace, all joy, all gratitude.

Let me tell you what He has done for me/Let me tell you what He has done for me/He has done for you/He has done for us

The room.

The bride.

The room.

The bride.

The two views flash over and over, and the song runs on constant loop, and I know it’s a dream but I know He’s running the projector.  I never want to look away.  I let my heart dance.  I let the waves of gratitude roll over me.  I feel His great gladness in the intimacy of this little celebration.

Come and listen
Come to the water’s edge
All you who know and fear the Lord
Come and listen
Come to the water’s edge
All you who are thirsty come
It’s not only for me.  Have you come to the water’s edge?
Praise our God, for He is good…

 

Leave a Reply

