not first the gift, but the giver

Posted: November 24, 2015 in Uncategorized

This morning’s emphasis in my reading for the 40-day journey is about wisdom – primarily, the difference between the wisdom of the world and the wisdom that comes from God, with certainty both that He is generous in giving wisdom as we seek it from Him, and that we can’t really find it when He’s not our source.

But the place my mind went – no, more likely my heart, or more precisely my spirit went – was to a different focus.

I don’t want to seek God only for the wisdom He can give me.

I don’t want to run to Him only to ask for stuff – even good stuff.

I want to go to Him just for HIM.  Just to be with Him.  Just to sit there quietly, just being, just knowing His nearness.

I want to communicate my heart’s gladness at this access.  I want to feel His heart’s gladness at my nearness.

I just want to hang out with Him, you know?  Sure, good stuff will come from it, and wisdom is on the list, but I really don’t want to be the greedy kid showing up with my hand out every time I come to Him.  I know how glad I am just to *be* with some of my favorite people in life – how I don’t need them to give me stuff or do stuff for me or even be anything in particular to me.  I want the same with Him – THAT is my best worship time.  And I happen to know He wants the same with me.

And He wants the same with you.

Leave a Reply

