day 51 virgin diet

Posted: September 2, 2015 in Uncategorized

I’m getting tired of saying how tired I am every morning, but it was so again this morning.  I’m now back to taking 20,000 units of vitamin D3 as of today, and I’ve got iron tablets coming in a week from Amazon.  Hopefully that will help.

Shake for breakfast, of course.

Lunch was this:

IMG_1019The salad in the back is mesclun mix, chopped purple cabbage, carrots, cucumbers, chickpeas, olive oil, and plain white vinegar, cuz I’m out of the red wine vinegar kind) and some cracked black pepper.

The pasta in the front I made like this:  in chili-pepper infused olive oil, I cooked 4 cloves of garlic, chopped, with some chopped green and black olives and green bell pepper.  After it cooked awhile, I added chopped tomatoes (GARDEN tomatoes – worth their weight in gold!).  In a separate pan I measured out and cooked exactly 1/2 cup of rotini made from rice (you all who have been asking what a non-gluten highly processed carb looks like – this is IT.)  When the rotini was done, I drained it and added it to the pan of veggies.  Deliciousness.

Supper was this:

IMG_1020In a skillet, I cooked up some grass-fed ground beef with a bit of onion.  After a bit, I added 4 cloves of garlic, chopped (yes, apparently I don’t care if my breath is ever decent again), some sweet peppers, kale, zucchini, black and green olives, and garden tomatoes.  In a separate pan, I cooked up some brown rice spaghetti (another highly processed, non-gluten carb) and when it was done, I drained it and added it to the big pan o’ meat and veggies and stirred it all together.  It was soooo good.

Note:  at lunch, I had no issues.  At supper, halfway through the bowl, I already felt the compulsion that I should for sure get a second bowl when I was done with this one.  Exactly like I did when I ate the gluten pasta.

I will do one more day of testing on non-gluten highly processed carbs, to see if I get any swelling or pain or anything like that.  But the early results tell me what I already was 99% sure of:  like sugar, highly processed carbs are just flat a bad idea for me, whether or not they have gluten.

Leave a Reply

