day 42 virgin diet

Posted: August 24, 2015 in Uncategorized

Went to bed at a reasonable hour last night – earlier than G.  Still hard getting going this morning.  I guess even with going to bed early, I’m not yet hitting the 8 hour mark.  I’m thinking I just need 8 hours at this point in life.  How to do that.  Hmmm.

Shake for breakfast of course, and since it was Monday and Mondays are always a shock to my body, with the change in routine, I went ahead and added cashew butter again.  It did a nice job of tiding me over to lunch.

Lunch was a huge salad – mesclun mix (from my garden!), cucumber (from my garden!), bell pepper, green olives, walnuts, avocado, and a can of tuna – I found “long-line caught” (which sounds like wild-caught to me) tuna at Aldi over the weekend for $1.49 a can.  It’s low-sodium, and I generally avoid low-sodium products,, but it turned out fine and is like 1/4 the cost of what I’ve been buying in the health food section at Hy-Vee.  Win!  Dressing for the salad was olive oil and red wine vinegar.  Good lunch – satisfying.

Supper was this:

IMG_1010Another version of taco salad, basically.  Big base layer of romaine, a whole bunch of chopped cabbage (from my garden!), black olives, sweet peppers (from my garden!), avocado, and atop all of that I tossed a mixture of black beans with the quinoa/brown rice I still have, sauteed in coconut oil with nice variety of spicy spices (and a nice bit of home-canned salsa, for a final touch).  It was wonderful.  I even found a teeny tiny apple and enjoyed it sliced up with a bit of cashew butter for dessert.  Nice treat.

Tomorrow is weigh day.  Not worried about that.  I wore my “Monday” gray pants – I like to wear them on Mondays because I’m generally a little extra physically sensitive on Mondays and the gray pants are the biggest ones I have.  Today, when I cinched the belt up on them, it did a little gather/tuck kind of thing on the waist – as in, these pants are almost too big for me to reasonably wear for work anymore.  YAY!  It doesn’t matter what the scale tells me tomorrow, with a good report like that today.

I also start testing dairy tomorrow.  I’m extra glad that the chocolate shake mix came in today, as the first thing I’m gonna do to test milk is use home-fermented kefir in the shake in place of the unsweetened coconut milk.  I’m a little apprehensive about how that’s gonna taste, but hopeful that between the chocolate favor and the raspberries I’ll add, it will make it palatable.  I’m used to adding many large tablespoons of honey to every serving of kefir, so this will be new territory for me.

We’ll see how that goes.

Leave a Reply

