day 39, virgin diet

Posted: August 21, 2015 in Uncategorized

Hard to get up this morning, but then I did stay up last night past what I know I can reasonably do, and I’ve done that a number of nights lately.  The discipline of getting enough sleep is not my strong point.

Shake this morning of course.  It’s payday, so I went to Amazon and ordered a bag of chocolate protein powder, since I’m nearly through the chai flavor.  It’s been fine, but it ain’t chocolate.

Today was my last day of testing eggs, so at lunch I scrambled a couple of ’em in chil-pepper infused olive oil, for just the right zing.  With that I had a sliced cucumber and a couple of stalks of celery with hummus, and a small bowl of what was left of that amazing soup.  Really nice lunch.

Supper tonight was this:

IMG_0997In one pan, I cooked up 5 cloves (yes, 5, that is not a typo) of garlic, an entire red onion, and a pastured chicken breast in some sesame oil.  To that, I added brussels sprouts and zucchini and cooked it all to just tender.

In another pan, I made brown rice and dumped in some quinoa I had left over in the fridge.  Had just a small bit (1/2 cup or so) of the rice/quinoa mix, and a very generous helping of the main dish.  It was rich, satisfying, and didn’t feel at all like a “diet” dish.

I indulged myself in dessert after – half a baked sweet potato with about 10 almonds.

All that’s left to do is drink my water, rest, and get to bed at a reasonable hour.  🙂  Shabbat shalom, all!

Leave a Reply

