day 24 virgin diet

Posted: August 6, 2015 in Uncategorized

I’m so far off schedule right now with the granddaughter here that I don’t know how to gauge how I’m feeling in the morning – I’m getting to sleep until I wake up, rather than waking at 4:30 with the work alarm.  And I’m getting a nap – or at least a short period of lying down – each afternoon while she has what we call her “nap,” which contains no sleep.  I NEED that rest each day, but I don’t know if I would attribute that to diet, or to the energy it takes to keep up with a 2 1/2 year old, which is for sure more intense than keeping up at work, but also more fun.

Had a shake as usual this morning.

Lunch was some leftover of the bowtie pasta and veggies, and a huge salad that included mesclun mix, cucumbers, shishito sweet peppers, tomatoes, blueberries, and olives with some olive oil and red wine vinegar.

Supper was a grassfed beef burger on a whole wheat sandwich skinny with mustard, a tiny bit of quinoa, and stir-fried onion, garlic, shishito sweet peppers, cauliflower, broccoli, and carrots.

In general I just do not feel as good this week, and I can’t help but connect that to the diet, whether it’s the gluten or just simply the highly processed carbs.  My nose is drippy tonight, and last night I was coughing on drainage persistently at bedtime (though, thankfully, I didn’t do that choking incident in the middle of the night again).  I got hungry between breakfast and lunch again today, though I had made a point to drink water.  Tomorrow is my last day of testing gluten, and I am to continue making observations about my body for the 3 days following that, as any effect can be delayed, but I’m already at least persuaded that carbs are not my friends, whether gluten-ish or not.  If you’d have told me that I would look forward to getting back to cutting out pasta, I’d have laughed at you.

Apparently I am learning.

Leave a Reply

