day 23 virgin diet

Posted: August 5, 2015 in Uncategorized

I realized my numbering was off, so tonight I corrected it.  Hence the 2nd day of calling it day 23.

At some point in my adult life, I started doing this thing sometimes, where I’m sleeping along quite comfortably, and suddenly some crazy overload of saliva and drainage come together in just the wrong way and I start to aspirate them, which jolts me out of sleep and into wide-awake feeling like I’m choking to death.  I cough and choke and wheeze and suck desperately for air and gag and double over and tears run down my face and it just kind of goes on and on and on.  Once it kind of settles down, taking drinks of water kind of helps, but I still have to keep coughing and clearing my throat for what feels like a good half hour at least, as there is always a little “injured” area in my throat afterward that wants to go on round 2.  It sucks.

Sometimes I go months or maybe even years without doing it; other times it happens to me almost nightly.  I have never tried to study a cause on it, as it just seems like an unfortunate coincidence or something.

I hadn’t done it since starting the Virgin diet.

Last night, it happened HARD – one of the worst ones I’ve experienced yet.

It could be coincidence.  Or I could be learning that my body is reacting to gluten.  Which makes me a little unhappy, as I contemplate what that might mean for tonight.  Hmm.  While I’d be glad to discover there is a cause and, therefore, a solution, I am not excited about the prospect of maybe getting to choke again tonight.  We will see.

Also, I woke up this morning feeling really crampy, and it’s not  one of days that I usually cramp.  That was bad enough that I took Aleve with breakfast.  Plus, my belly felt heavy and kind of leaden.  I’m thinking that’s a response to the gluten or just simply to the carbs.  I felt pretty crappy this morning, actually.  Crappy enough that I did NOT start the day excited about continuing to test gluten, and that’s a harsh standard, if you have any idea how much I have loved my carbs all my life.

Also, even though I drank my shake this morning as usual, I was absolutely ravenous with hunger by 9:30 AM.  I feel like that is probably because of the carbs yesterday.

There is the outside chance that I’ve messed up my own experiment, though.  I drank very little water yesterday, as I was all wrapped up with watching my granddaughter and visiting my brand new grandson in the hospital, and intentional hydration didn’t happen, other than first thing in the morning and last thing at night.  I also struggled to drink very much today, for the same reason, and that COULD be part of why I got so hungry this morning.  I usually drink water quite aggressively all day, and I just can’t figure out how to manage that with the other stuff I’m juggling this week.  I don’t feel like I have any attention span to spare for it.

Nothing to do but observe as well as I can, try harder tomorrow, and observe everything carefully, I reckon.

This morning I had a shake.  I got lazy and didn’t take the stems off of the greens, because I was adding mesclun mix, and that’s a bunch of small pieces, which would take MUCH more time to de-stem than when I toss in 4 or 5 gigantic kale or collard leaves.  I also left out the blueberries, because eating all these carbs is making me reluctant to add even natural sugars.  This turned out to be a double mistake – the shake was SO BITTER.  But I’m too cheap to toss it out and start over, so I just grimaced and drank it down.

I had to pack a lunch to eat at the hospital, so what I did was smear almond butter on a whole wheat “sandwich skinny” and topped it with apple slices, and then I made a huge salad of cucumbers, sweet peppers, onions, green and kalamata onions, (very few) tomatoes, and a bit of red wine vinegar, olive oil, and cracked pepper.

Supper was this:

IMG_0896Hot dish:  zucchini, onion, garlic, tomato, and whole wheat pasta.

Salad:  mesclun mix, cucumber, kalamata olives, wild-caught salmon, sesame oil, red wine vinegar, and cracked pepper.

And now, to get busy drinking more water.

Leave a Reply

