day 14 virgin diet

Posted: July 27, 2015 in Uncategorized

Today marks 2 full weeks on the Virgin Diet.  That means I have to get busy in the next week looking at the book, as week 4 is a different deal.  I am surprised at how well this is going, and if all I ever did was just stick with what I’m doing now, I’d be content for the most part.  But I will complete the entire 7 weeks to learn everything I’m supposed to be learning from this science experiment.

Here’s the fun thing that happened today:  mid-morning, my belt moved over one more notch smaller than the one notch smaller it had done a week or so ago!  That was extra fun because on Friday when I had put on my not-so-favorite “jeans Friday” jeans for work, they were a notch BIGGER than last week, and I had to just decide that either those jeans are just bulkier, or I was actually bigger, and either way, all would be well.  So maybe the jeans were just bulkier, since Sunday was back to normal and then today was even smaller.

So anyway.  That was fun.  And yet I’m still not willing for that to be the focus or purpose of this diet.  What I keep remembering is that the beginning of pretty much any diet is fairly quick weight loss, and then momentum can kind of just drop.  So I’m not going to get all swept up with excitement about this.  Tomorrow night will tell what the change is in pounds, but that continues to be not the point of what I’m doing right now.

Breakfast today was a shake.

Lunch and supper were both leftovers from yesterday’s lunch and supper:

  • A huge veggie salad – romaine, yellow and red bell pepper, purple cabbage, carrots, olive oil
  • Cucumber salad – cucumbers, avocado, olives, vinegar, oil, salt and pepper
  • Sweet potato treat – baked, then sliced, then sauteed with walnuts
  • A handful of almonds
  • And at supper, a can of wild-caught salmon

Also, I got back to exercising today.  Having gone to bed at 8:20 last night due to nodding off and then just choosing to listen to what my body was saying, I woke at alarm time able to walk to the bathroom without limping, something that hasn’t happened since I don’t know when.  G jumped up and set up the Wii for me, but then the batteries in the stepper thing were dead.  Determined to stick with the plan, I put on my reflective vest, grabbed G, and off we went for a walk.

The whole thing was kind of a battle and inner conversation.  I resolved to keep it short – marked a turnaround spot in my mind and promised myself to go easy.  Then once we were out walking, I wanted to double the distance, just to prove I could do it, just to push myself, just to feel more like I did when I was running.  But I didn’t listen to that.  I stuck to the plan.  Which turned out to be a good thing, when one of my feet started throbbing at the 1-mile mark, which was thankfully only .3 miles from home.  I’d have been in trouble if I’d followed that prideful instinct.

The conversation in my head with myself and God was interesting while we walked.  It really came home to me:  I didn’t regain all this weight and lose all that conditioning from just turning lazy and deciding not to try.  I have an actual physical impediment in the arthritis.  I’ve been working around it and yes, I got discouraged and depressed and reacted badly with food, but I didn’t just give up.  Realizing this, along with good result from limiting the walk today, has given me a tiny glimpse of what it might be like to stop resenting the arthritis and trying to wish it away, and instead just dealing with it for what it is.  Making peace with it.  Accepting where I am in reality, so that I can deal with it honestly and without the yuck.  I’m not there yet, but I did get a good peek at it today, and I now want to get there.

Leave a Reply

