day 8 virgin diet

Posted: July 21, 2015 in Uncategorized

Today after work I weighed with the Wii (used that time because that’s the time of day I weighed the day before I started this gig).  I am down 8 pounds.  That’s a nice fact, though probably more exciting to people reading than it is to me.  I’m weighing because it’s a marker and I’ll want to have it later.  But to be honest I can’t bring myself to engage with the weight loss conversation at this point.  I’m really serious about that.  Still, it’s good news, eh?

Today’s diet was shakes for breakfast and lunch, and then supper was the same as yesterday’s lunch and Sunday’s supper, so nothing special to report there.  Still rocking the zero cravings, and loving it.

After supper tonight, I spent two hours out in the perfect weather, bent over pulling weeds.  It might not have been aerobic exercise, but there was enough sweat that my head was mostly wet by the end of that time.  So that’s exercise, eh?  And great pleasure, to boot.

As you know, I’m using chia seeds in my shakes daily – 2 scoops, which is 2 tablespoons.  G is using chia seeds in his juice every morning, and he is LOVING them.  He gets energized by them, and swears they even seem to be a sort of mood enhancer for him.  This is what chia seeds look like:

chiaChia seeds are kind of amazing.  High in protein, fiber, antioxidants, calcium, and omega 3 fats.  Appetite suppressant.  Anti-inflammatory.  Regulate blood sugar and cholesterol.  And they are, like, an ancient superfood, whose use dates back to the Aztecs and the Mayans.  You can stir them into almost anything or sprinkle them on almost anything.  They really don’t taste like anything.  Added to liquid and left to sit, they form a gel, so they can be used as a thickener.

We recommend them.

Leave a Reply

