day 5 virgin diet

Posted: July 18, 2015 in Uncategorized

I went to bed early last night, my head feeling like it was in a vice with someone squeezing.  I put my heating pad inside my pillow case and alternated ears all night.  It helped.

Got up and had a shake (no berries) and then went back to bed for a couple more hours, head still throbbing.  It is SO WEIRD to have a sinus infection with no actual nose stuff going on.  But I guess I should be grateful for that.

Lunch shake also had no berries.  Another small rest, and then I finally revived enough to take on a spontaneous project:  cleaning and organizing the basement.

Supper was as follows:

IMG_0851Lean, clean protein:  I forgot I had a can of wild-caught albacore tuna from the health food section at Hy-Vee.  That was a nice salad topping.

Non-starchy vegetables:  lettuce, cabbage, a weed from my yard and garden called purslane that I recently learned is practically a superfood, half of a giant red bell pepper, and I also ate 6 baby carrots (the book is clear that carrots raise your blood sugar and should be eaten in moderation, so my berry-free day seemed like a good day to have more than just a few carrot slices).

Healthy fats:  olive oil  (with vinegar) and olives

High-fiber, low-glycemic carbs:  a whole roma tomato on the salad

Nuts: almonds

I forgot to mention yesterday that I forgot to drink my water before breakfast.  I forgot again today.  I have to get that habit going.  But I’ve been making up for it during the day, drinking plenty.

I am really starting to miss soup.  Working at Friendship Manor has made me a genuine soup lover – I have been in the habit for the last few years of having soup basically every day at work – sometimes a cup of soup and a bowl of the other kind of soup.  My lunchtime shake is starting to make me sad.  It’s not warm.  I want warm soup.  Tonight I shall investigate the book and/or the website and see if there is a recipe; otherwise, I’m pretty sure I can figure out how to do this.

Leave a Reply

