trying something new

Posted: February 24, 2015 in Uncategorized

It has been a long winter of mostly not working out.  While G is quite the faithful gym rat, I don’t get there much.  My feet fight me about the treadmill and recumbent bike, my umm seat fights me about the stationary bike, and mostly I cannot stand the notion of going out into the frozen arctic tundra at 4:45 AM.  I want to, I mean to, but mostly I don’t.

Around the time that G and I moved to our own place, my daughter and her husband loaned us their Wii.  We get to keep it until after my son-in-law graduates from seminary and they move back to Illinois.  Mostly we have just used the Wii to watch Netflix, though we’ve also played a few games.

In with all the goodies is a Wii Fit and a Wii Fit Plus and two Just Dance games.  I am embarrassed to say that I haven’t used them.  At ALL.  But tonight I’ve finally made a step in the right direction.  I got the step pad out of the box.  I ran through the early menus in the Wii Fit and the Wii Fit Plus.  I let it measure and weigh me.  I let it test my balance.  Oh what fun.  When it calculated my weight and size, it blew my Mii up fatter and fatter as it told me in a sad voice that I am obese, and fed me facts about the health problems related to that.  It informed me that my balance is pretty bad – “Do you trip over your own feet?”  Well…yes.  It calculated my Wii age – I am weak and out of shape to the tune of being…drumroll please….62 YEARS OLD.  Oh, joy.

But now the baseline is set.  I have made a goal – to lose 3.1 pounds in 2 weeks.  I was going to aim for 5, but then the machine argued with me, pointing out that when folks lose weight too fast, they often suffer from a “rebound effect.”  So, okay.  As you know if you’ve been around long, I am not really all about measuring weight.  But I’ve been so stuck for so long and something’s gotta give,so I’m willing to give this a try.

I did all of this so that I can get up tomorrow morning when the alarm works and actually work out.  And I won’t have to overcome the cold to do it.  Just put on some shoes and walk to the living room and do the thing.  The “plus” part has several elements I can choose from – yoga, strength training, cardio, balance, and I don’t remember what else.

So.  Let’s see how this goes.  It’s something, which is better than nothing.  Progress not perfection, eh?

Comments
  1. billsmockins@frontiernet.net says:

    Progress is GREAT!!!  Hope it works out for you.  A couple lady’s talked about Wii Fit at Daniel Plan class last night.  They mentioned the little icon “gaining weight” to be the user.  Not sure that would make me want to work out, but hey!  whatever works! 

Leave a Reply

