growth group

Posted: February 2, 2015 in Uncategorized

One of the things that drew me to my church was the small groups – when I joined, there were a ton of them, and the hope was that everyone in the church would plug into one.  The idea excited me – one of the frustrations of church is the business of only seeing a lot of the people for that time on Sunday.  I want to know my church family better, and despite big intentions I have not yet gotten very good at doing that cool, now seemingly old-fashioned business of inviting folks over for hangouts.

It was fun.  Well, actually at first, it was daunting for me, when I went to others’ homes.  I always managed to freak myself and almost back out of the whole thing, and after the first meeting, I always thought, “What the heck have I gotten myself into?”  But then always pretty quickly it grow into a richer experience.  Sometimes I went to groups in others’ homes, and sometimes I hosted and led groups.  Somewhere amidst it all, though, the groups just kind of pooped out.

Now they are being resurrected in a new, simpler and more focused format, in keeping with the new vision at our church, with a new name in keeping with our new church vision:  “Growth Groups.”  This week, we start a group in our home.  I am SO EXCITED!  I so look forward to the better opportunity to share our journeys and struggle together with the business of how to apply the tenets of our faith to our actual lives, making that crucial transformation from ideas to realities.  I am excited about laughing together and carrying one another’s burdens.  I am excited about getting my ideas and notions and assumptions stretched, and helping others to get theirs stretched as well.  I am excited about deepening friendships.  Each “semester” we will plan one fun event and one service project; I am stoked about that.

Sure, it’s one more thing to do amidst an already-packed schedule.  But it’s some of the most important “doing,” which is BEING there with one another and for one another.  That’s the sort of thing that SHOULD take precedent over the busy-making things that seek to monopolize our schedules, right?

Keeping it short tonight.  Just wanted to share the excitement.  I hope you have a small group of some kind in your life, or that if you don’t, that you are open to the possibilities offered therein.

What do you think?  Are you a fan of small groups?

Comments
  1. Cindy Maynard says:

    I absolutely ADORE small groups!! I have one with someone sisters in Christ where we pray for each other and others. Such a great way to live out faith!!

  2. Steve Oaks says:

    I believe you know I am a fan of small groups. And enjoy discussing pros / cons and ways to develop them. However, print discussions are tough for me, so I’ll try to keep up with you guys’ progress here.

Leave a Reply

