bunny diapers

Posted: January 28, 2015 in Uncategorized

It’s another fun bunny night at the Buchanan residence!  Chance the bunny does one thing that makes me cringe – he poops freely.  While Autumn is great about using her litter box and doesn’t seem to make any mess when she comes out to play on the rug, Chance makes no such attempt.  Poop just falls out of him, no matter where he is.  You’re holding him?  He poops.  He’s hopping down Bunny Road?  He poops.  He’s on the rug?  He poops.  I don’t know if it is part of his handicap, or if he’s just a stubborn little guy.  But I am NOT fond of the need to clean the entire area, after he’s been out even just for a bit.  And I worry that if he’s pooping, he’s probably also peeing – while rabbit pellets are small and dry and easy to clean up, I sure as HECK don’t want dried urine all over the place.

Since I don’t want to be a meanie and require him to stay in the cage 24/7, I started looking for solutions.  What I found was:  BUNNY DIAPERS.

Now…apparently this is controversial. We all know the internet is stuffed full of trolls and other strongly opinionated people, just waiting for the opportunity to POUNCE and tell folks how truly horrible they are.  In my search for information on bunny diapers, I learned that I am an evil, horrible person for doing so, at least according to one school of thought.  Some will make allowances when one is dealing with a handicapped animal, but others seem certain that if he pees in the diaper, his urine will promptly be a toxic accident happening on his bottom.  Since he will only be wearing the diaper for an hour or two at a time while he’s out of the cage, it seems to me that this argument is a bit much.

Besides, he came with a whole bag full of clothes, which I was told he likes to wear.  While he so far doesn’t seem very pleased when we try the clothes on, we do know he’s experienced with the whole clothing thing.  I’m pretty sure wearing a diaper is a fate better than never being allowed out of the cage.

Still, I only ordered one diaper, to start with.  They are $20 each.  We need to know that this is going to work, before I want to invest more dollars.  Meanwhile, we can rinse the thing out after each use and hang it to dry.  G was a little worried about Chance’s dignity, so we ordered it in camouflage, to match G’s shorts.  It is cloth, with velcro tabs.  According to the internet, bunnies wear their diapers “backward” from what I’d expect.  So tonight was his first diaper experience.

He is not impressed.  I put it on him while G was in the shower, since G is the softy and this is, as I told Chance, not a negotiation.  He wiggled away from me a few times as I figured it out, and even jumped out of my arms once.  But in the end, I got it on him.

FullSizeRender (2) FullSizeRender (3) FullSizeRender (4) FullSizeRender (5)FullSizeRender FullSizeRender (7) FullSizeRender (8) FullSizeRender (9) His sister Autumn is very concerned about this business. There was quite a bit of inspection, and what appeared to be a number of attempts to chew it off of him (she’s quick to respond, though, when I tell her to stop).  He keeps turning around to look at it.  I don’t suppose he finds it as adorable as I do!

We’ll see how this whole business goes!

(Hope you didn’t come here tonight for profundity…)

Comments
  1. Cindy Maynard says:

    how adorable!! this is like our dog. he doesn’t really care to wear a sweater but when it’s cold outside, he has no choice. I think he will eventually resign himself to the fact it’s what has to be done, like Diesel and his sweater!

Leave a Reply

