revving up a bit toward discipline and intention

Posted: January 9, 2015 in Uncategorized

Thus far, I feel like I’m kind of creeping along, inching along, sluggishly crawling along on really plugging in to my two words for 2015, DISCIPLINE and INTENTION.  I have my little routines and my over-packed schedule and my go-to strategy of kind of checking out, and apparently getting myself seriously engaged is going to take either a lot of time or a lot of effort, or both.

However, I’m in no danger at this point of thinking I went wrong with those words.  Stuff keeps coming up that points me to the need.  Looks like the first place I’ll be really focusing in is finances.  G and I will be looking over where we’re at and doing whatever recalibrating needs done to get us on track to where we want to be.  Part of me dreads this process, but the administrative side of me knows I’ll get to make lists, columns, etc and is a bit excited.

Not far behind that will be a chore I’ve been putting off – finding a family doctor for us.  I have a sinus infection and yesterday I went to the express care and got meds for it.  I like the express care – love walking in without an appointment.  But the express care folks decidedly DO NOT like it that I don’t have a regular doctor.  Yesterday I asked, since I was already there, if they might do a check on my iron and vitamin D levels, since I’ve been unusually fatigued lately, in addition to being ridiculously cold.  Yes, I KNOW it’s cold outside, but when everyone else is comfortable and I am sitting with my winter coat across my lap and a complaint in my heart about the cold air around my neck area, that’s kind of ridiculous.  Being too cold can be a sign of anemia, of which I am a fairly regular sufferer.  I take iron and eat a lot of greens, but still…it’s worth checking.  ANYWAY…the express care folks aren’t interested in checking my levels.  These issues, they said, are to be taken up with your regular doctor, since they must be followed up and monitored regularly.

So I confessed (again) to not having a doctor (I so took it for granted, living in a rural community and always having the same doctor – finding a new doctor is a daunting task!) and they gave me a pamphlet of new area doctors.  They even took time to make recommendations from it.

We’re both overdue for a real checkup by someone who cares.  Looks like it’s time to take this one seriously.  Definitely a matter of DISCIPLINE and INTENTION.

Amidst all of this, though…it’s FRIDAY NIGHT!  I will for sure be intentional about taking some R & R time with G. He’s so much better at that than I am – I always find myself filling up time off with tasks.  This is his weekend off, so I fully intend to take advantage of his help on this front.

Have a great weekend, all!

Leave a Reply

