sixth year on the job!

Posted: January 7, 2015 in Uncategorized

I really enjoy the new year transition at work every December and January.  I experience true delight when I make up next year’s calendar – every year I try to make it a little better, and this time I feel like I really outdid myself (immodest, perhaps, but more an honest celebration.)  I like going into my electronic files to make sure 2014 is properly tucked into 2014 folders, and new 2015 folders are created.  There are a million little details that make my little administrative heart dance (and if you can’t relate, just be glad there are folks like me so that you don’t have to!)

Today I was doing some of that.  I opened a file on my computer.  I started to create the 2015 sub-file for it.  And then I saw:  I have files labeled 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, and now 2015.  I am beginning my SIXTH YEAR there.  Now…it’s not quite as simple as that, because I was gone to JPUSA for the last two months of 2010 and the first 7 1/2 months of 2011.  (My 2010 files are still there because they weren’t deleted when I left, even though as far as we all knew, I wasn’t coming back…this was tremendously helpful to me when I DID come back, after all.)  Still, this being the sixth year surprised me.  I still feel like I’m one of the fairly new folks there.  Where did the time go?

The only job I’ve had longer that that was my licensed daycare home, which I ran for about a dozen years.  But I got to be at home with my kids, and some years I treated it like a job, but other years I really didn’t, you know?  And I was my own boss, so there wasn’t much effort to making the job mine.

I really do feel like I’ve made my current job completely mine this year.  I spent the first two years mostly trying to get a grip on what I was doing, and the next couple trying to improve processes.  But 2014 was the year of taking it by the horns.  I redid all the files to suit me.  I unloaded, examined, and rearranged every cabinet.  I started some things over from scratch, having chucked what had been put in place by others who process differently than I do.  It’s all mine, mine, MINE now!

I tend to be tentative and generally less-than-assertive.  But that is far less true, here at the beginning of year six, than it was awhile ago.  Last month, I even told my boss I was “feeling bossy” about something and that I was in the process of changing it (which only brought chuckles and full support from him.)  I’m better at saying NO than I was at this time last year – better at redirecting folks who are bent in the wrong direction.

I love it.  I can’t wait to see what 2015 brings!

I love having a job that challenges me, lets me use my talents, and always offers new experiences.  I love getting to enjoy my work daily, rather than working for the weekends, or consoling myself all year by focusing on my time off.  I love that when I think about my job, I think first about what I get to do…not first about my benefit package.  I love being appreciated and always being free to live my job as ministry, not just collecting a paycheck.

Yeah, you might say I’m lucky.  And I’ll sure say I’m blessed.

May you find the blessings in your work as well this year…even and especially if that seems so unlikely that you snort and roll your eyes as you read this.

Leave a Reply

