wedding vows

Posted: August 17, 2014 in Uncategorized

Anniversary! Today is our first. In honor of that, today is a re-blog…and let me say…I STILL DO!

clumsy beautiful life

I find the usual, traditional wedding vows to be beautiful.  Still, it can be easy when we hear something with familiar words and cadences to tune out the depth of meaning and nuance.  Easy for it to become a form without power, you know?

So I was really pleased when Gary wanted us to do our own vows.  I was excited.  I couldn’t wait to write my vows.

And then I got stuck. Every time I would try, no words would come.  I poked around at it all summer but got precisely nowhere.

But in this, like in so many wedding-related matters, God kept me in perfect peace.  All of the trying and failing did not worry me at all.  Every time I hit the wall, I would just do something else and trust:  the words would come when the time was HIS time.  

The wedding was Saturday; I…

View original post 821 more words

Leave a Reply

