anniversary thoughts

Posted: August 9, 2014 in Uncategorized

Our first wedding anniversary will be next Sunday.  Those of you who know me well or have followed my writing over the years know that I’m big on stopping to reflect when significant dates pass, such as New Year’s, or my birthday.  The anniversary is for sure a new addition to that list.

We’ve had fun this last couple of weeks, marking where we were this time last year.  Today, for instance, is the anniversary of the day I moved Gary from Chicago to Rock Island.  That is a fun thing to remember. 

It occurred to me, then, that two years ago around this time (Labor Day weekend, actually) was my first time to visit as “Gary’s girlfriend” – we went Facebook Official that weekend. 

It occurred to me, then, that three years ago – August 20, 2011, to be exact, I was leaving JPUSA to move back to the Quad Cities, a development I had not anticipated nor wished for, but rather just basic obedience as God led me.  My boss here and a coworker drove to Chicago in a truck, loaded my stuff in the rain, and drove me back to my what would be my temporary new digs for about 6 months to follow. 

It occurred to me, then, that four years ago in August, I was in the process of re-arranging my life, having given notice here at the Manor.  I was giving away everything I owned, preparing to travel light as I prepared to step into a dream years upon years in the making – my move to JPUSA.  I moved in October of that year.  When I went, I hoped it would be the last move I would ever make – my intention was to grow old and die there. 

And just now, I’ve been combing through old emails to see what was up with me this time 5 years ago.  I was living in Aledo, working at the Domestic Violence Shelter in Rock Island, my daughter Julia was getting married, my son was at boot camp for the National Guard, and I had just taken a trip to Switzerland – a wonderful gift from the parents of our foreign exchange student.  I was preparing to be an “empty nester” – to live ALONE for the first time in my entire life.  I remember approaching that with quite a bit of apprehension. 

My goodness.  SO.  MUCH.  CHANGE.  If I ever come across as crazy, bear that in mind – my whole world, my entire life script, has been rewritten quite a few times in the past decade! 

Anyway.  I reckon you can plan on me writing marriage reflections this week.  Can’t imagine that not happening.  You’ve been warned!  🙂 

Comments
  1. Amy Glenn says:

    And ….drum roll…you are a grandmother….fantastic changes for you.

  2. Cindy Maynard says:

    So many changes. Life is never dull if we choose to follow God in obedience!! He has adventure for us, if we are willing. I look forward to the marriage reflections as today is our 30th wedding anniversary! 🙂

  3. laurie says:

    your wedding anniversary is on my calendar at work……however did not send the card, but I had you there and you were in the mix with family, co-workers and your name caused questions…..who is this one?……Remembering your wedding is a blessing…..remembering the courtship long distance and the peek you allowed and gifted to your blog readers is sweetness.

    It is fun to remember and wish you and Gary Happy Anniversary. You are a youngster and have lots of days ahead of you. You live in the moment, intentional and present, so I know you are celebrating everyday.

    You bless me, thanks K….

Leave a Reply

