lump

Posted: February 11, 2014 in Uncategorized

You are the potter, and I am the clay.  Dig Your fingers deep into the clay of my life.  I don’t want to be just a lump.

Our pastor said that “not just a lump” thing recently.  It took the old “potter and clay” bit, which I had heard often enough that it tended to feel kind of tired and cliche to me, and made it new again. 

I don’t want to be just a lump. 

Exactly!

I don’t want to stay where I am, not growing, not changing, not becoming more beautiful or more useful. 

I don’t want to sit in one spot, bringing neither myself nor anyone else joy.

I don’t want to wait, dormant and passive, expecting that what I need will be spoon-fed to me, absent any effort on my part.

I don’t want to waste the gifts I’ve been given by hording them for myself.

I don’t want to be the same, unmoved me in 5 years, any more than I would want to be the same, unmoved me today that I was 5 years ago.

I don’t want to rest on my laurels while others suffer from need of what I could share.

Most of all, I don’t want to look Jesus in the eye and feel shame when He asks me what I did with what I was given:  my life, my resources, my time, my self.

I don’t want to be just a lump.

Dig Your fingers deep into me, Lord.  And never mind my groans, when it hurts.

 

Comments
  1. Cindy Maynard says:

    Let me not be a lump! Love this!

Leave a Reply

