snow day retreat

Posted: January 18, 2014 in Uncategorized

A snowy January day.  The cold outside is pressing in from all sides, seeking to invade the little space of our room, giving the space heater a run for its money.  It is Saturday – the gift of a change in routine.  I love my job, but I also love breaking away from the alarm clock, the calendar, the piles of paper.  G had to work today – I dropped him off there after a late breakfast out.

I’ve spent the day seeking comfort in all my usual ways.  I cleaned and straightened and arranged, working until our room felt like fresh and welcoming again, while listening to NPR podcasts.  I tended to tasks that will make next week easier, having been done ahead.  I took a half-nap in front of an indie film.  I withdrew from the world,

Recharging is good.  I do recharging best when the weather makes the “out biking” or “out running around” options less favorable.  So just for today, I am deeply grateful for falling snow and foreboding air chill. 

I needed that. 

Leave a Reply

