a prayer

Posted: January 16, 2014 in Uncategorized

In November, I heard a line from a liturgical prayer that so caught my imagination that I had to catch it quickly in the notes in my phone:  Make me a cup of strength for suffering souls.  Isn’t that beautiful? 

Since then, I’ve used the wonderful tool that is the interwebz to find the prayer.  Check it out:

O God, Give me strength to live another day;
Let me not turn coward before its difficulties or prove recreant to its duties;
Let me not lose faith in other people;
Keep me sweet and sound of heart, in spite of ingratitude, treachery, or meanness;
Preserve me from minding little stings or giving them;
Help me to keep my heart clean,
and to live so honestly and fearlessly that no outward failure can dishearten me
or take away the joy of conscious integrity;
Open wide the eyes of my soul that I may see good in all things;
Grant me this day some new vision of your truth;
Inspire me with the spirit of joy and gladness;
and make me the cup of strength to suffering souls;
in the name of the strong Deliverer, our only Lord and Saviour, Jesus Christ.

~From ‘Forward Movement – Day by Day’ – A Prayer For Today

(If you’re wondering, as I did, what “recreant” in line 2 is, it is cowardly, craven, unfaithful, disloyal, traitorous.)

I don’t know how I can add to that.  Seems like the perfect way to start only every single day of one’s life, does it not?

Comments
  1. Pam Spangler says:

    Thanks Karen needed this today!

  2. Cindy Maynard says:

    Absolutely beautiful! I loved this, and loved it some more. What glorious days I would have if I made this my morning prayer. I am writing this on my heart! Thank you, Thank you.

Leave a Reply

