enter the mind dump

Posted: January 3, 2014 in Uncategorized

Sometimes hearing an idea a second, third, or fourth time can make it suddenly seem like a new idea.  Maybe a new angle becomes evident.  Maybe a fresh infusion of inspiration arrives.  Or maybe old resistances are just worn down.  Today I had one of those experiences.

A friend writes every morning when she wakes up.  While she blogs, this is not her blog.  While she is an artist, this is not her art.   This is just a kind of unedited “mind dump,” which she writes to never read again.  She has shared this process more than once; I have never had the slightest interest in trying it out. 

Today I came across the idea again, as someone on one of my writing blogs shared about the 750 words website.  I checked it out, and this time it sounds like it might be a worthy experiment.  The object:  write 3 pages of completely unedited stuff.  This is to clear out moods, circular thinking, and other muck.  It is to create a clean space wherein actual creativity might occur.  What is written on the daily mind dump is not a social networking thing.  It is not a blog.  It is not for the public.  It is not even for ME to read again.  

I’m going to give it a try.  30 days should be a sufficient experiment to help me get a glimpse of what value this practice might have for me.  It will be interesting to see if this causes me to write more or less on the blog.  Won’t know until I try!

Leave a Reply

