measuring passion

Posted: December 28, 2013 in Uncategorized

Earlier this month, our pastor challenged us to examine the question:  what am I passionate about?  There are clues, he said, to the answer.  Look at your Facebook feed.  Read your checkbook register or bank statement.  Ask your friends.  Consider:  if I followed you around for a few days, what would I say is your passion, based on my observations. 

I think it is important that we stop once in awhile and really examine like that.  It is easy to fool ourselves into thinking we are passionate about something when really we’re just full of opinions – all sound and fury, you know?  It is easy to selectively remember our shining moments and cast ourselves as superheroes.  It is easy to suppose that the inner narrative is spilling out to where people can see it, know it, experience it. 

I am tempted to make blanket statements based on what I *think* such an examination would produce.  I am, however, aware of how often in life I have been delusional about myself, my actions, my intentions, my resources, my reasonings. 

So I’m hoping to be able to make some time and space to really do a little digging and see if my actual life matches my ideas.  I am very much an “ideas” person, but if there are no feet put to ideas, they are just pointless play in the end, aren’t they?

Clearly it is the year’s end – I can tell, because I’m sliding into evaluation and reflection mode, big time.

Pressing into it, hungry for the learning…

Leave a Reply

