past-my-bedtime ramble

Posted: December 16, 2013 in Uncategorized

It is 8:33 PM, which is thirty-three minutes past my bedtime.  I need to write a blog.  I only have to do this daily writing thing fifteen more times after tonight, and then 2014 will be here and I will be released to miss a day sometimes.   My mind is filled with tomorrow’s schedule, which includes 3 hours helping with “photos with Santa” at work (and getting to pass out 80 Christmas presents to children of our employees!  Woot woot!), followed directly by my grandbaby’s first birthday party.  I’m both exhausted and excited, thinking about it.  And then the next day is a huge marathon day at work of meetings and more meetings and a “first annual” banquet to conclude the day.  So part of my mind is frantically zooming through the next days with an “eek!” 

My thoughts are filled with bouncy happy stuff from the day.  A lunch visit from my daughter and grandbaby.  News for G that is super exciting, but not mine to release yet right here on this format.  A special time with our Bible study peeps tonight. 

A million thoughts, and not a single good one to zero in on for a focused story, essay,or poem – it’s like my mind is simultaneously overfull and kind of empty.  It’s 8:40 and I’m wound for sound, and the blog is not shaping up very well, and I have to get up at 2:15 with G to help him get off to work, and I don’t feel like sleep is going to be an easily accessible companion tonight. 

It’s past my bedtime, and I’m thinking about you, my regular readers, who send me notes and say encouraging words and let me know that something I’ve written (which is really just a sharing of my journey) has touched your life and helped or changed things in some way.  I’m embarrassed that what you’re going to get tonight is an incoherent ramble of overexcited sleepy thoughts instead of “real” writing, whatever that is.  And I’m relieve that I only have to do this 15 more times and then can get a break if I want one, which just turns my thoughts to wondering once again what my writing goal will be for 2014, and EEK that is not AT ALL a sleep-inducing thought!

It’s 8:45 and this is not really a blog and probably shouldn’t count as writing, but I’m opting for grace and mercy, and saying good night, and turning my attention to the hard work of settling down for as much sleep as I can manage to grab.  And hoping that in 2014, I can dodge these goofy little diatribes altogether. 

Good night, friends!

 

Comments
  1. Laurie says:

    fun to just read your excitement and WoW – you are a busy girl! Selfishly I am looking forward to what you have to say in 2014 and hope you don’t stop writing. In fact I hope you publish someday, and I want to purchase a signed copy 🙂

    l.

Leave a Reply

