feeling like a mack truck ran over my head and then stopped to back up

Posted: December 9, 2013 in Uncategorized

It is the end of a Monday that was maximally Monday-ish in nature.  Challenges from early in the day and clear through.  Negative events, disheartening news, and more than enough to do, including an extra-long workday on a week that promises at least 3 more extra-long workdays yet to come.  It’s not that there was no good in it – there was actually A LOT of good in it.  There was just a higher-than-usual ratio of harsh vs. pleasant items.  I came home tired and out of resources for coherent thought, for the most part.  It’s the kind of tired that makes my neck ache and my head heavy and can easily push me over into whine mode. 

So I don’t really have anything profound to say today.  I am headed off to do the most therapeutic things I can think of – already had hot chocolate, and I’ll add a little snuggling and a nice dose of prayer-laced sleep.  I am grateful to be surrounded by people who get up and try their best again tomorrow, who don’t let the yuck hold them underwater to be drowned, who don’t turn and kick the guy next to them just because stuff gets sticky.  I am glad for remembering that God’s mercies are new every morning.  Today doesn’t have to deliver its nasty into tomorrow.  Tomorrow is full of potential.  I am mindful that going gently with myself is an important strategy when I am fried.  Days like today can leave me tempted to be mean.  That’s less likely to happen, if I build on the base of going gently with myself.

Good news!  Tomorrow is not Monday! 

May it find you blessed.  Good night, all. 

 

 

Comments
  1. Pam Spangler says:

    I always have to find something good in everyday to keep me from not going over the cliff. Blessings to you!

  2. Cindy Maynard says:

    kinda had one of those days too! thankful for his mercy and love. here’s to a better Tuesday! 🙂

Leave a Reply

