in love with an idea?

Posted: November 20, 2013 in Uncategorized

I am in love with the idea of a God who is in love with me.  Who is on my side.  Who wants ME to win.  Whose fondest wish is to make me smile.  Who “of course” wants me to be happy, fulfilled, and comfortable.  I am in love with the idea of a God who welcomes my grocery list prayers, just waiting for a chance to check them off, one by one.  I am in love with the idea of a God who is looking for ways to help me get ahead, and of course wants me to be better off financially next year than I am today.  I am in love with the idea of a God who will rush in to snatch away anything that touches me or my life in a way that doesn’t please me.  I am in love with the idea of a God who, when He loves me “just as I am,” will never expect me to grow or change at all.

 

There is a God who is in love with me.  Who blesses me, helps me, gives me gifts, rescues me. 

 

It happens that He is also in love with you. 

 

Sometimes “my side” is against you.

Sometimes my grocery list prayers would steal from yours, if it were all answered according to specs. 

Sometimes my discomfort is the birthplace of your blessing…or mine. 

And if I get “ahead”…doesn’t that leave you “behind”? 

 

The idea I love and the God I love are very often not one in the same. 

 

Still, somehow He loves me, just as I am, enough to change my selfish self. 

 

Today, may we love Him enough to let our ideas die.

 

O praise the LORD, for He is good, and His mercy endures forever.

Comments
  1. laurie says:

    love this and sharing it with my community shared living friend

Leave a Reply

