user error – oy!

Posted: October 27, 2013 in Uncategorized

Well, I’m happy to say that my internet problem is solved.   And it turns out, I didn’t REALLY have an internet problem at all!

My laptop has a little set of buttons at the top left-hand side of the keyboard that turn the ability to go online on and off.  I knew this when I first had it – I read everything that came with the machine.  But since I have never once used those buttons in the three years since it came in the mail, I forgot about them.  Thank God for my friend, who spent way less than five minutes with the machine and saw what I had done. 

It’s always humbling to discover that the only problem all along was user error.  I like to think I’m decently savvy, when it comes to technology – and I am – uhhh…sometimes.  When I’m fully tuned in and paying attention.  When I’m not taking things for granted.  When I stop and really think.  And then there are all the times when I am multitasking, making assumptions, hurrying, and only half-tuned-in. 

For tonight, I am choosing to be grateful for the solution found – and that with this posting, my daily writing promise will have been kept.

For tomorrow, I’m aiming to slow down, pay attention, and think, think, think. 

Hope you’ve had a blessed weekend!

Leave a Reply

