short thoughts on discipline on a not-very-writish night

Posted: October 7, 2013 in Uncategorized

This discipline of keeping my promise to write every day for the entire year of 2013 is really fun when ideas are flowing and there is clearly enough time and I am undistracted.  And then there are days like today, when I don’t get time until it’s already after bedtime and I don’t have the vaguest clue topic I might write on. 

Discipline has been a quiet theme in my life for about three years now.  I have mostly not acknowledged it as such, since I’m not crazy about the word discipline.  I like words like RELAXED or EASY GOING or LAID BACK.  I’m not as fond of the ideas with hard edges and no compromise.

When G and I traded our morning run schedule for an evening one, I started with some very loud complaining each time about how much I didn’t want to do it.  He is so EASY GOING and LAID BACK that he was willing to roll with that.  He smiled and made other offers, like, “Maybe we could just walk.”  And that was when I had to explain that one cannot give Karen latitude like that, because she will not choose well.  The only way I have become a runner, I explained, was making it a matter of no choice.  I WILL DO THIS and it doesn’t matter if it’s raining or I’m tired or it doesn’t fit in my schedule or I just don’t feel like it. 

So on nights like tonight, when writing is the LAST thing I want to think of, I pull on that reserve and remember that this too is no item for compromise.  After all, it is already October!  I’m three quarters of the way to the finish line!  Can’t falter now.

So here’s to the discipline of suiting up and showing up, most especially when it would be so much easier to just go to bed and forget about it.

O praise the LORD, for He is good, and His mercy endures forever. 

Comments
  1. laurie says:

    love our discipline and how the words have blessed and challenged – thanks for pulling on the reserves : )

  2. Cindy Maynard says:

    I, for one, am so thankful you have persevered and not given up on your daily writing. I look forward to what Karen has to say every morning. Thank you for your persistence and tenacity. God will bless you honoring your commitment, and for certain, He already has! Love ya!

Leave a Reply

