my friend who is braver than me

Posted: September 14, 2013 in Uncategorized

Tonight G and I went to a prayer service that I’ve been wanting to attend for literally YEARS now.  When I first heard that the Quad City Prayer Center had opened, I was intrigued and wanted to check it out.  Would it be anything at all like the Kansas City International House of Prayer? 

But I didn’t go, and about 90+% of my reason for not going was:  I didn’t want to go alone. 

Now that I have a husband who loves prayer and worship as much as I do, I was ready to charge in. 

When we got there, we ran into:  a single friend from church.  I immediately noted that she did NOT use my old self-pitying bit, apparently.  She wasn’t staying at home, thinking how nice it would be to go “if only she had someone to go with her.”

I admire my friend.  She’s been doing this for a long time, she told me.  I love the courage or freedom or whatever it is in her that causes her to do what I did not ever do, all those years.

And just for the record:  we will be going back.  The prayer service was really wonderful.  It’s a monthly deal, and I highly, highly recommend it if you like the place of meditating to modern worship music. 

Leave a Reply

