on seeing clearly

Posted: August 29, 2013 in Uncategorized

“See people for who they are becoming.  We are hanging all these old pictures of us on the fridge, like we are still all those old things.”  ~Bob Goff, Global Leadership Summit

“Evaluate future potential, not current performance.”  ~Colin Powell, Global Leadership Summit

“Identify the budding leaders around you and surround them with prayer.  Form a ‘hit list’ and pray them into ministry.”  ~Oscar Muriu, Global Leadership Summit

I remember the adults who took me aside when I was a kid to notice and name my potential. 

The series of junior high and high school teachers and college professors who cornered me at various points in the journey to say, “You are a writer.  You must be faithful to the craft.  Never stop writing.” 

The 4-H leader (who also happened to be my aunt) who spotted my potential for public speaking and pushed me, when I didn’t yet have the slightest clue or interest. 

The pastor who pulled me aside with tears in his eyes to talk about my ability to work with kids. 

One of my favorite things about working with teens was the gift of seeing who they were becoming.  Having eyes to see potential well beyond the current (often dismal) reality was an exciting thing, and a handy tool for a prayer warrior.

One of my misgivings about moving beyond youth ministry was the loss of that specific “seeing.”  But it turns out that it isn’t only possible to see potential in kids.  It turns out that if we remain open to seeing, and invite God to show us…He will! 

Do you see the potential in others around you?  Are you able to see beyond whatever they are doing right now, and see who they could be, if they were walking in the fullness of what God has for them?  If not, I would challenge you:  let go of your ideas about who the people around you are.  Allow for the possibility that they are more wonderful than you know how to imagine.  Invite God to give you a glimpse.  Wait.  Expect.  Be prayerful in the waiting.  The things He may show you:  WOW.  And the prayers you may pray, seeing what could be birthed, if people move beyond their perceived limitations…well, I think they may excite you as much as they excite me.

 

Comments
  1. Pam Spangler says:

    still waiting for what God has in store for me

  2. Cindy Maynard says:

    As our women’s ministry moves into a mentoring program, I am excited to see the potential we have at our hands for mentors. I pray God opens up the hearts of many to share in this ministry. I pray he opens my heart to see the potential leadership and the provision he has made in pairing people together and guiding us to love and encourage one another. Thanks for giving me a wake up call to this.

Leave a Reply

