job!

Posted: August 28, 2013 in Uncategorized

Today has been an “answered prayer” day for the Buchanans.

I asked y’all to pray, if prayer was your thing, for Gary and the job situation.  Today, he was hired for a job. 

  • I expected that he might have to start out part time somewhere, but it is full time.
  • I expected that he might have to start out at 2nd or 3rd shift, but it is 1st shift.
  • I expected that he might have to work weekends and holidays, but it is a Monday through Friday job, with some paid holidays.
  • I expected that he might have to take something with no benefits, but it comes with better insurance than I have at my job.

Pretty nifty, eh?  God is so very good. 

We went out for an evening of wild celebrating, spending wedding gift cards for dinner out and buying his work clothes and lunch box and stuff with other wedding gift cards.  Part of the fun was:  I got home in my dressed-for-the-Board-meeting getup, and he was in his usual Gary-wear:  camo shorts and a band t-shirt with the sleeves cut out and all his tattooed glory showing and his converse shoes, OF COURSE.    He had made a comment yesterday that we are like “Lady and the Tramp” and we decided to just roll that way and let others in the restaurant wonder.  I think y’all KNOW by now how much we enjoy being unusual.  🙂

I’m glad the job came so fast.  To be honest, I didn’t expect it to come so fast.  Back in 2009 when I got laid off from the domestic violence shelter, I was out of work for about 8 weeks before I got hired on with my current employer.  I’ve had plenty of friends and loved ones who have had to wait and look and strive and be patient for days running into weeks and longer, looking for work.  I was so sure of Gary’s awesome work ethic that I wasn’t worried – if it took some time, that was fine – he would for sure get work and for sure be quickly valued by whoever hired him.  So I was all chill about it.

But it was more of a stretch for him.  Gary hasn’t done “gaps” between employment.  I was astonished when I helped him do a resume – he’s only worked a few jobs and has basically moved from one to the next without a break between at all.  So this 2-ish weeks that he has lived here has felt like AN ETERNITY to him and maintaining a chill attitude didn’t come easy to him like it did to me.  Friend assure me that the desperate need to work is just a “husband thing,” though I have certainly witnessed husbands who didn’t seem to manifest the urgency I saw in my husband.  A great weight is lifted off of him and I am so grateful for that.  He has just over a week before he starts, so now all we have to do is find stuff to keep him busy between now and then.

A motivated husband is a wonderful gift to have, and I am grateful!

Comments
  1. Pam Spangler says:

    so glad for Gary-blessings to you two

  2. Cindy Maynard says:

    YAH!!! Been praying for this since you asked. So thankful God answered this one quicker rather than later. Yes, men need to work to feel that sense of providing. And yes, we as their wives should be grateful for that desire. Congratulations to you both!!! (Dare I ask what type of work Gary will be doing?)

Leave a Reply

