cross-eyed rhymes

Posted: July 2, 2013 in Uncategorized

i’m running sort of short of sleep
and that makes me a crabby creep
the to-do list, it chants its song
but i don’t want to play along
i simply want to be in bed
my covers pulled above my head
there’s always so much stuff to do
the stuff that’s old, the stuff that’s new
the stuff i should have done last week
to think of it makes me shout EEK!
my blurry brain, it cannot think
my droopy eyes, they want to blink
into a stupor i shall sink
my attitude from sweet to stink

and what is there to do but sleep
and what is there to do but sleep
and what is there to do but sleep
oh come to me, my sweet friend, sleep!

karen swank

Leave a Reply

