the object of His affection

Posted: June 14, 2013 in Uncategorized

Sometimes when the umpteenth difficulty rears its unseemly head, when the list of unthinkable, unspeakable horror stories surpasses my ability to turn my gaze upward, when the consistent truth that “life is not fair” is an untenable obstacle stuck in my craw, choking me…those times, I get it, how Paul said that, “To die is gain.”  Weary, I am found among the ranks that yearn for my home that is not here on earth.

But I know He is mercy, I know He is grace, because of the other times.  The times when simple beauty connects my heart to home, even with my feet planted firmly on the earth.  The times when second chances far surpass the first chances that I had blown so handily.  The times when a smile, a laugh, a touch reach out and somehow extract a sweet delicious ache in my heart – not a metaphor, but an actual physical sensation.

He loves me enough to infuse this tired and broken world with ambient whiffs of heaven, of home, of that for which His intention created me.  He paints me pictures of His love, great and small, subtle and loud as a trumpet.

For me?

How could this be?

O praise the LORD, for He is good, and His love endures forever. 

Comments
  1. Sherri says:

    Thanks so much for this great reminder Karen!

  2. Cala says:

    Man do I resonate with this DAILY. You put words to my hearts cries. ❤

Leave a Reply

