the peace of knowing “enough”

Posted: June 12, 2013 in Uncategorized

When I know there is enough food, and I lose my fear that what I take might not be enough to get me through to the next food opportunity, it changes my whole approach.  I’m not reading each menu item carefully to try and figure out which one will put the most food on my plate.  Instead, I’m enjoying the fun of choosing something that is great for my body and also a pleasure to eat.  I’m enjoying eating slowly, taking smaller bites, putting my fork down in between to just enjoy the experience.

When I know there is enough love, I lose my fear that there might not be enough – that if I don’t grab whatever opportunity passes my way, I might go without.  I’m not desperate to do whatever it takes to hold someone within my orbit – not willing to just do anything, be anything at all just to hold on.  Instead, I am at peace in myself, with myself and God.  Instead, I’m enjoying the grace of choosing something that is healthy for my mind and for my spirit.  I’m enjoying growth – relishing the journey, Setting aside the need to be pleasing leaves room to extend love, grace, mercy and humor to myself, and it spills over to touch many things unexpectedly.

 

 

Leave a Reply

