day 159

Posted: June 8, 2013 in Uncategorized

Today is day 159 of keeping my promise to write every day for a year.  I am in the sixth month.  I am cruising toward the halfway mark.  I’m not counting, but I have for sure written more than 159 blogs, because there have been a whole lot of days of writing both here and over at the naked blog.  I think I can reasonably suppose i have written 200 blogs thus far in 2013. 

I continue to find that this is an expensive promise to keep.  It costs me sleep.  It runs me off of other projects.  It sends me home early from social engagements.  It leaves me walking around all day poking around inside of my brain, watching and searching for the writing topic of the day. 

I continue to find it humbling.  I make more and more typos and general grammatical errors as time goes by.  More and more, not fewer and fewer.  I suppose that is because I’m learning the principal of producing something, ANYTHING, rather than nothing.  I keep reading that in the long run, that habit is more helpful in advancing me toward actually using my writing gift than if I wrote less often and more perfectly.  Still, I am horrified at the errors I find when I go back to reread things I have written while lacking inspiration or nodding off to sleep, mid-word. 

I am more grateful than I know how to say, to those of you who stick around for this experiment.  I sometimes feel like I write to myself, to the air.  And then one of you pipes up and I am reminded that I am not in this alone, that someone is listening, that it matters to someone when I write.  I’d write even if no one listened…but oh BOY am I grateful for you someones who listen. 

I still cannot imagine being Stephen King…I think I recall him stating that his minimum writing time per day is something like 4 hours.  This brain does not seem to contain that much creative material.  But who knows what I might grow into, if I just remain faithful to this first beginning promise.  I gotta think that at the end of 365 consecutive days of writing, I will know something I didn’t know before I started.  I prefer to think what I will know will have been worth the pressing in.

Can’t know until I get there.

Comments
  1. Sherri says:

    You’re inspiring me – I’m thinking I might embark on this journey next year! And… yes, I’m listening!

  2. Me says:

    Yes Karen, there are those of is who do read tour words. We are listening and loving your journey! At least I am.

    Sent from my Motorola Smartphone on the Now Network from Sprint!

  3. mary shoemaker says:

    I read it every day! keep going…I know you can do it! if it was me I’d probably write 4 hours a day too! it’d take me that long to try to think of something to write! you go right on writing! I’ll keep on reading. and got to tell you this…I’m proud of your ability to write like you do. maybe you should have gone to college to write! Date: Sun, 9 Jun 2013 01:19:12 +0000 To: mary_shoemaker@hotmail.com

  4. you are saying things here that feel like you were romping in strawberry bushes in my mind and plucking out some of the juicier ones. what I CAN tell you is nothing you don’t already know nor have hinted at here or elsewhere. when you BEgin to simply BE Willing to tap the creative tap, you will never find it without resources.

    I love my Life a little like Stephen King shares about in his book On Writing. I deliver myself to the table each morning and write what I have decided to write on until I have what I intend to have. it might BE only a word count, my target, but it is one I hit day in and day out. no matter what. and that, my dear friend, is the magic.

    I love that you are making errors and leaving them there BEcause that is how you show that you are real. I promise you I could spend forever thinking of what to write and never in a million years come up with an idea, but give me a prompt [which I’ve done for myself each month for a year Now] and sit me down and I will go. that is how reading you feels to me when I see your errors. I see YOU.

    BEautimous always to read you.

    • karen says:

      Thanks for the encouragement! I do have some pages of writing prompts saved in my phone, but alas, they are not the quick triggers for me that they seem to be for you!

      I definitely enjoy reading your writing!! Thanks for listening!

Leave a Reply

