momentum

Posted: June 5, 2013 in Uncategorized

My ex-husband’s grandpa was a man who stayed young far, far into old age.  When he was an age that leaves many senior citizens using walkers and other assistive devices, a crew came to re-do his roof, and he helped move heavy packages of shingles, and also climbed up the ladder to the rooftop to inspect the work. 

A few years before that, he told me once that his back was stiff and sore.  His solution?  He climbed his basement stairs, over and over again.  The healing was in the movement, he said.  That seemed entirely backward to me, but I listened to it.  After all, this was a man who seemed to hold a key to prolonged vitality. 

I thought of him this morning, when I fell while out running.  I was GLAD that I was on foot and, at almost 3 miles from home, was without the option to sit down and baby myself.  Once upon a time, it would have made sense to me that if I hurt something, I should rest a bit, baby it, and only put it back into motion very gently and cautiously.

In truth, my knee hurt like heck when I got up.  By my old logic, the smart thing to do was to sit down and elevate it.  Maybe ice it.  Take ibuprofen.  Instead, I stood up as quickly as possible and moved right into walking fast, until I was ready to run again in a few seconds.  My knee and my hip both stayed sore for a little bit.  But you know what?  They were FINE by the time I got home, and while the bruising on my leg is much prettier tonight than it was this morning, it only hurts if I touch it. 

Momentum is a good thing.  I think that old guy was right – often, healing is in the motion.  True physically, and often true in the emotional and spiritual realm.  We can sit down and lick our wounds.  We can focus on the pain and try to think of smart ways to avoid more pain.  We can try really hard to make it better by our own efforts. 

Or we can get up and get going again, doing what we know to be the next right thing.  And maybe the pain dies away from lack of attention.  Maybe life flows freely, because we don’t let it get stopped up by focusing on the interruption to our momentum.

Maybe.  That’s just what I think.  What about you?

Leave a Reply

