moving, day 2

Posted: May 26, 2013 in Uncategorized

Ahh the joys of moving.  Yesterday was an entire day of hard physical labor, from about 6 AM until bedtime…in the rain.  The mitigating factors there included the extreme welcome of my friends with whom I am now living, and the fun of spending an entire day with my friend who helped me.  I slept harder last night than I have in a very long time.

Today I came home after church and lunch with a friend to spend the rest of the day (again, until bedtime) settling my stuff into my new room.  It hasn’t been hard physical labor – just a busy day of fitting everything together like a puzzle, so that I (and after the wedding, WE) will have room for everything needed inside this room. 

The older I get, the more I enjoy this process of making a space “mine.”  I find I am less and less concerned with being trendy or doing what someone else would do, and more and more tuned in to just trying to express myself.  The look that is “mine” isn’t a designer type thing.  I don’t choose my art to match the colors of the other art or the carpet or the walls or whatever – each piece must speak to my heart.  Color is just a game I play, pushing it around to try to make it richer, and I feel like I’ve come a long way on that front over the years. 

Tonight I am deeply satisfied, sitting propped up in my bed under the covers, surveying the day’s work, soaking up the vibe of the new room.  What a wonderful place to have landed, where I look out at trees outside my window in the morning, and wake to the sounds of family – giggling boys and everyday bustle, and a big goofy dog of very little barking willingly volunteers himself for all the petting I might ever want to do.

It is good.  Very, very good. 

Comments
  1. Cala says:

    It sounds wonderful. 🙂

  2. laurie says:

    can you post pictures of what your new digs looks like? I love art because I am not ‘artsy’. Decorating is art and your words paint the picture of art here. Happy for you and for Sarah. How rich to live with a good friend – actually rejoicing with you….

Leave a Reply

