perhaps this would be a good morning pledge

Posted: January 30, 2013 in Uncategorized

Given: today, I will be tempted.

The offer may be big – so big that I can scarcely turn from it.  Or it may seem so small that I might suppose it is of no real consequence at all.

The voice may sound sweet, seductive.  It may sound logical or educated.  It might give me all the justification I seem to need.  It might speak to my lusts, my insecurities, my disappointments, the wounds I nurse most fiercely.

The important detail is:  today, I will be tempted.

I know this truth:  temptation is never my friend, though it will often slide an arm around my shoulder, and make the friendliest of noises.  Though it may say every word I hope to hear, it is an enemy.  Its kisses are deadly.

My Father has promised me that a way of escape is ALWAYS available to me.

This morning, before I start my day, I decide:  I will look for the way of escape. 

Often, that way is simply:  FLEE.  Even if I have to leave behind something that belongs to me, I will take that way of escape.  I will FLEE whenever possible.

If something prevents immediate flight, if my feet are firmly planted, as in a nightmare, and I cannot budge, I will stand quiet.  I will look for the way of escape, knowing He has provided it.

I will not lie to myself – will not speak the language of any lie I may hear, as I wait.  I especially will not agree that there is no way of escape.  He promised.

I now make the decision that, going forward, I will ALWAYS take the way of escape.  The decision is made in advance.  I don’t have to think about it, or wonder, or decide again.  This decision need not change.

I can do all things through Christ, who strengthens me. 

Comments
  1. Stacy says:

    Thank you Karen! This is sooooo good. I have never really processed the fact that I will undoubtedly be tempted each day. Therefore I have never processed the ability to escape or the availability of an escape route. Just being aware of such things can make a HUGE difference in dealing with temptation situations. The trick is to know when you are in the presence of temptation…

  2. karen says:

    You’re welcome, Stacy! A lot of my ideas to write are just that: my ideas. This one felt more like I was grabbed and pulled along. I hope it helps! Praying with/for you, that you will notice when temptation is the thing working on you.

  3. I had some strange dreams last night. I woke myself up and talked myself in off the ledge. I tried to go back to sleep. My brain was still whrrrrrrring away. I turned on the light, covered my eyes, and slowly let the light into the moment. I knew it was just a dream and I wasn’t “alone” in knowing its story. I counted my inhale and counted my exhale and I did that again, and again, and yes, again…

    My language for this is different yet my sense of understanding and BEing understood cares little for the words, solely for the connection.

    Reading you is always an adventure, something I make the time to DO when I can take the time simply to BE with the experience.

    As I have been reading you I have BEcome more aware of things and I enJOY the way you engage my mind in walking new paths.

    That this is very good?! Goes without saying…

Leave a Reply

