not calling myself a prophet…just thinking aloud

Posted: January 25, 2013 in Uncategorized

“On the trembling edge of a growth explosion.”

I wrote typed those words into my evernote this past Sunday, as I listened to the pastor at JPUSA sharing about what’s next in 2013.  The phrase captured my heart’s response to his words.

Not that I knew what kind of “growth” might be ahead.  Growth in size? Scope? Depth?  I don’t know  Just…growth.

I’ve pulled that note to look at it endless times this week, realizing that it applies in so many places.  “On the trembling edge of a growth explosion.”  I see it at work.  At my church here in the Quad Cities.  In so many of my friends. 

Sometimes it feels like life just goes along, unchanging.  Or…at least…I remember when it used to sometimes seem like that to me.  I haven’t experienced unchangingness in a very long time. 

“On the trembling edge of a growth explosion.”  The many ways I see it make me think simply that it’s getting late.  When my kids still lived at home with me, once in awhile in the face of such things I would turn to them and ask, “Do you see this?  Do you know what time it is?” and they always knew what I was referring to:  Jesus’ return.  

I understand that some will say certain people have ALWAYS thought it was almost time for His return, ever since He ascended into heaven after rising from the cross.    I get that.  And maybe it just looks like it to me because I can only see this tiny little segment of the world, inside this tiny little segment of time.  My view is not worldwide and it’s not timeless.  Maybe it’s not late.  Maybe the certainty in me about that is a misunderstanding.  I’ll concede that possibility.

Still…I’m sticking with that phrase at the top of the page.  TODAY, here and now, in 2013 in the circles in which Karen Swank runs, there are a CRAZY amount of situations to which it applies:  we are “on the trembling edge of a growth explosion.”

As for me, that both exhilarates and frightens me.  It makes me serious about tending to the things I’ve been given to do.

What about you?  Do you see that trembling edge of a growth explosion in YOUR world?  Where?  Tell me all about it.

Leave a Reply

